Muirfield Magic


Nicklaus Wins Open

Jack Nicklaus, 1966

The Open Championship returned to the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers (a.k.a. Muirfield) today. Past winners are a ‘whose who’ of the game’s finest. Check out this list: Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Tom Watson, Lee Trevino, Sir Nick Faldo and Ernie Els. These seven legends have  a total of 51 MAJORS among them!

Tom Watson

Tom Watson, 1980

By Sunday afternoon another player will have his name on the Claret Jug and become ‘Champion Golfer of the Year’.


Gary Player, who won in 1959

We would love to see Phil the Thrill win his first Open Championship this weekend. After another heartbreak last month at the U.S. Open, he would be a perfect fit to the illustrious list of winners at Muirfield and could match Gary Player’s 1959 triumph. Although, I think there is a slim chance Phil will be posing for ESPN ‘The Body” issue anytime soon let alone when he’s 77 (see Mr. Player above).

DSC02324And last but not least…

We wanted to see if you were still paying attention. This is yours truly playing at Turnberry in Scotland last month. A man can dream can’t he?


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s