Sail On

 

The first pair of shoes I ever fell in love with were Sperry Top-Siders. The year was 1988 and I, a bitter 11-year-old was dragged to the local shopping centre by my mother. Sitting in the display at my local mall, there they were: the shoes God made. Navy blue with bright yellow piping around the soles, and yellow laces. Beautiful.  They had to be mine, and they were.  I remember cherishing the bright blue box they came in, with its signature white sails,  just as much as the shoes.

A few years later, the grunge era took over and Top-Siders disappeared for more than a decade. As did my beautiful navy and yellow pair when my mom decided they were too old and threw them away. Clearly, I’m not over that.

Now, with prepsters and nerds leading the style-charge, Sperrys are everywhere, thanks also in part to Band of Outsiders, who got involved with the company in 2008. Check out the brand’s blog for some cool editorial and campaign images. I think it’s time for a new pair.

-CH

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports, Style

Leave a Reply

