Super Bowl Spotlight

By now, you’re probably all Super Bowled out, but we couldn’t resist sharing a few of our favourite moments from last night’s big event. OK, so really it’s just me as CH is off celebrating by playing NHL2012 at his post-Super Bowl party because, really, why wouldn’t you play a little NHL after a full day of NFL? But I digress.

I know there were a lot of game highlights; Manningham’s catch and Bradshaw’s awkward touchdown tumble come to mind but those are obvious. Some of my favourite moments are a tad more obscure and/or occurred post-game. So, here are a few of my top picks from last night:

Justin Tuck’s bow after he sacked Tom Brady. Usually, I’m not a fan of the “excessive celebrations” but the Giants defensive had the perfect alignment during his bow. As a yogi, I was impressed. Namaste Tuck, namaste.

I am on the fence about Madonna’s performance. All I kept thinking during the entire show was, it could be worse. Plus, the fact that she sang “Like a Prayer,” a song I was obsessed with when I was 10, made it harder for me to hate her, and the show. My favourite part though, had to be when she pulled the disappearing act at the end that reminded me of a scene from Death Becomes Her. Foreshadowing much? CH just got home and wants to add that his favourite part of Madonna’s show was when she was on the ground kicking her legs up for the LMFAO guys to grab them. Who invited those clowns?

And here’s a photo National Post sports columnist Bruce Arthur (@bruce_arthur) tweeted:
“Gisele, moments after rushing to embrace her husband before he spoke to the media.” (Because, obviously, we all wanted to see what Gisele looked like post-loss.)

As for the best tweets of the night, the award goes to our friend Maria Tallarico in Vancouver.

@MariaTallarico:”Unless the Dillon Panthers or East Dillion Lions are playing I could give a flying….” (That’s a Friday Night Lights reference for those of you out there who have yet to see one of the greatest shows ever.)
@MariaTallarico: “Wherever Bridget Moynahan is right now, you can bet she’s smirking hard.”

Photos: Justin Tuck by Reuters; Madonna by John Munson/The Star-Ledger; Gisele by @bruce_arthur

2 Comments

Filed under Sports

2 responses to “Super Bowl Spotlight

  1. Sean Breslin

    I think it was a pretty good Super Bowl overall.

    • Hi Sean, thanks for the comment. For a Super Bowl, I thought it was a good game as well. It was there for both teams late in the 4th quarter, which is all you can ask for. We might have a new Manning-Brady rivalry on our hands – CH

Leave a Reply

