GPOYW: Our “About” Photo

We’ve been seeing GPOYW on a lot of blogs lately. It stands for “Gratuitous Picture of Yourself Wednesday.” I’ve never been quick to pick up text shorthand or online abbreviations and I usually find it/them more confusing than helpful.  And apparently, I surround myself with like-minded people. For a long time, my friend Rita thought LOL stood for “Lots of Love” (how cute), and my other friend Maria once assumed TTYL was shorthand for “totally” (it’s “talk to you later”).

So that brings me back to the GPOYW or in our case, gratuitous pictures of ourselves Wednesday. Our fabulous photographer friend Brent Mykytyshyn, who just got married a little over a week ago (Congrats!) agreed to take our photo for the about page. The inspiration: the controversial April 2008 American Vogue cover with LeBron James and Gisele Bundchen. I thought it was a perfect example of fashion meeting sport.

When I told CH about my idea, he looked at me and said: “You realize I look nothing like LeBron.” Touché! And good thing he didn’t finish that sentence by saying I looked nothing like Gisele (obviously, though). Brent was so patient with us while we tried to replicate the pose. CH had his pose down right away. I, on the other hand, had some issues. The final verdict was that either LeBron was strong enough to hold Gisele up in the air, or she was seriously photoshopped because there was no way I could tuck my legs in like that and hold the pose.

Here are some outtakes from the shoot and make sure to check out Brent’s portfolio. He works magic, even without a wind machine!

-MG

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports, Style

Leave a Reply

