Ladies in the Ring

I was going to talk about camouflage attire today but a few things happened on the weekend in the sports world I think we need to discuss.

First, let’s talk about those London Rippers. In case you haven’t heard, it’s a new baseball team out of London, Ontario that debuted its logo and name last week and created a media frenzy, nationally and internationally. The man in the logo is supposed to symbolize “Diamond Jack,” a frustrated hockey player who has the ability to “rip” the covers off baseballs, according to an article in The Toronto Star.

But critics argue that it looks a lot like what Jack the Ripper, the serial killer who murdered female prostitutes in the 19th century, probably looked like. And since the team is called The Rippers, and is from London (yes Ontario but still a London) it’s too much of a bad coincidence.

At first, I didn’t give it much thought, but the more I hear about it, the more I think it’s all in bad taste, especially because according to an article in The Globe and Mail, the logo was revealed the same day “the community marked Wear Purple Day to show support for abused women.” And since Rush Limbaugh thinks it’s funny apparently, according to the same article, I am definitely against the team’s name and logo now. The latest news is  there has been a proposal put forth to keep the team name but change the logo at least.

It didn’t take much convincing for me, however, to be pissed off after reading The Globe and Mail article on female boxers possibly being forced to wear skirts during the summer Olympics. The main reason, according to the article: to stand out from men in competitions. Read it here and let me know what you think.

It brought back bad memories from when I was a lounge server a decade ago at Joey Tomato’s (now just Joey’s). Our uniforms at the time were blue T-shirts and black bottoms. I came to work wearing a long black skirt one night and was pulled aside and told that my skirt should be shorter. In a separate discussion, I was also told that I should try to wear my hair down instead of up and if I absolutely had to pull it back, it should be looser, with pieces framing my face.

I remember nodding, smiling, walking away but never once wearing a shorter skirt or my hair “looser.” I was a damn good server so it was either legs and hair, or efficiency. Efficiency won.

-MG

Laila Ali photo by EPA.

1 Comment

Filed under Sports

One response to “Ladies in the Ring

  1. http://dream-analysis.org

    I have been examinating out some of your stories and i can state nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your blog.

Leave a Reply

